Foraging for Food: Mussels

One of my favorite things to do is cook and eat food that I have had some hand in finding/catching/growing/hunting.  However, I have the following things working against me:

1) I didn’t grow up shooting guns and have only done so in the past year.  At brightly colored pieces of clay.  Poorly.

2) I think if I ever shot and killed an animal I would likely cry about it for a few days.

3) I suck at fly fishing and somehow can’t even catch a fish with a spinner reel and a worm.

4) I over-water or under-water vegetable plants until they die.  There is no in between for me.

The one thing that I have figured out I have a talent for, meaning its extremely easy, is catching/gathering shellfish with the intention of eating them.  They are basically rocks with a sweet delicious inside: right up my alley.  The first installment of Foraging for Food focuses on the shellfish that surprised me most with its quality: mussels.

Here’s all that’s needed: running water, possibly a scrub brush, some salt, a steamer pot, and something to soak the mussels in.  Oh, and a bay that smells a little funky, preferably in picturesque Maine.

See that white house in the distance? Its a bar where I watched the U.S. lose to Ghana and got the liquid courage to walk out into the muck

According to the drunks at Pollys in Beach Haven, NJ, the best time for going after any mollusk is a couple hours before, or right at, low tide. Make sure you leave your douchey footwear on shore.

Artsy shot from Kristi. Also, the Nike factory store in Freeport is on the way to Phippsbugh, ME

Mussels basically grow on anything stationary in tidal areas.  I didn’t just make that up based on my experience.  As far as you know.  If you dig in the mud around rocks you can pull off clusters of mussels.

Glad I never got an ill advised tattoo on the small of my back in my teens

In about 5 minutes I was able to find 3-4 pounds of mussels and put them in my handy Hannaford’s shopping bag.

I either need to stop eating food drenched in drawn butter or get some sort of training bra

The biggest difference between mussels you find and what you will get in a restaurant is that they are a lot uglier. They are covered in mud, nicked up, have barnacles growing on them, and will be attached to empty shells and sticks.  They need to be rinsed and scrubbed thoroughly in fresh water and have all attached debris cleaned off.  The barnacles are fine; they fall off in cooking and are actually edible if you are feeling adventurous.

Once they are clean they should be placed in a container of salted freshwater for at least an hour to get some of the remaining sediment filtered out.  If you have time, change the water halfway through and soak them longer.

Forgot a bowl so I soaked in the steamer pot

Close up. Not as pretty with all the barnacles but just as delicious if not moreso

Once they have soaked, they are ready to be steamed in the same manner that you would steam any other shellfish.

About a half inch to an inch of water in the pot, then a steaming insert goes over that inside the pot

I have washed my hair four times in two days and I think I still smell like smoke

I personally like to overcook them a bit since its very hard to make mussels chewy and its better to be safe than sorry with something you pulled out of foul smelling mud a few hours earlier.  Also, given that history, its amazing how clean and fresh the mussels taste.

White wine, drawn butter, and mussels. Doesn't get more straightforward than that

This shot makes me so hungry. They were so good and tasted distinctly different than farmed mussels

As far as the barnacles go, they pop right off after cooking and if you find a large one that fell off, you can scoop out the meat from the back.  Very sweet meat, with an interesting texture.

Kristi loved the mussels too which is a good sign of whether its just my adventurous tastes. She didn't even mind the occasional mini pearl you find in wild mussels

And thats about it, easily the cleanest and freshest tasting mussels I have ever had and so good with simple drawn butter.  These mussels wouldn’t hold up as well if cooked in wine and served in a broth due to all the extras on the shell, but on their own they were definitely impressive.  As is Maine, what a place.

The crazy thing is this shot doesn't even come close to capturing how beautiful it was

Next week, New Jersey littleneck clams.  Definitely with an extra-large helping of sleeveless shirts and general DBishness.

5 thoughts on “Foraging for Food: Mussels

  1. Even though I would have died eating these lovely shellfish, it looks pretty amazing. Well done on the food AND the photography!!

  2. OK, wasn’t sure how long to steam these suckers, but I put a steamer insert above water with the following: chives/chive blossoms, tablespoon or so of dried tarragon, couple of bay leaves. And holy crap, the sweet smell startled me out of my web-surfing. Looks as though the mussels are perfectly steamed. Shall report back after eating them with browned butter. Even if they suck, the smell was worth it. xox

  3. Oooh. Pearls. I see what you mean (read: sandy mc sand). What about using oatmeal to make the mussels “burp” out their extra sand, as per the urban myth for clams? Otherwise, the verdict is completely freaking delicious. Screw the sand, I’m totally eating these tomorrow, too. xox

    • I haven’t tried oatmeal, but I keep corn meal in the cupboard for exactly that purpose. I think it works well and makes sense; mussels take in the corn meal, spit out the sand, then the corn meal becomes soft in the water. Haven’t headed up to Maine yet this summer, but will test out that method likely in late summer/fall. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

